I took some time today to cut out enough fabric to put together two squares of the Bundle of Bricks quilt. I haven’t actually sewn them together because I realized I have not decided on what thread to use–when I sew clothes I pick out a thread that matches the fabric, but what do you do when you have so many different fabrics?

But I did lay the fabrics out in two different layouts. This quilt only has two squares, so below is what I’m working with:I thought I had decided on the first layout so that I would break up the red fabrics, but I think I actually like the reds together better. Maybe because it is more cohesive? I don’t know if I feel like because of the color or the patterns–the red paisley and green leaves also seem a little too pointy together. But I’ll get my husband’s opinion tonight.

Another issue is that the light red flower fabric now seems thinner than the other fabrics. The edges have already started fraying. It was the last one I cut, and so I am also wondering if my rotary cutter’s blade is dull. So I may need to replace that fabric or my blade or both. My quilter mother is en route today to move to Georgia (yay!), so I’ll give her a few days to settle in before I bombard with all my questions.

My next decisions: thread, replace light red fabric, layout.

